top of page

Daily Verse Devo - Psalm 23

The Lord is my shepherd; I have all that I need. He lets me rest in green meadows; he leads me beside peaceful streams. He renews my strength. He guides me along right paths, bringing honor to his name. Even when I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me. Your rod and your staff protect and comfort me. You prepare a feast for me in the presence of my enemies. You honor me by anointing my head with oil. My cup overflows with blessings. Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the Lord forever. - Psalm 23 (NLT)

What is your favorite animal?

For me, the answer is sheep. I've loved them since day one and I could quote Psalm 23 by the time I was 3. There was this awesome children's book at the library that featured the psalm and I read it all the time.

Sheep are perhaps the most mentioned animals in the Bible. In the Old Testament, they were sacrificed for sins. John the Baptist calls Jesus the Lamb of God, who came to pay the sacrifice for the world's sins.

Jesus also calls Himself the Good Shepherd. We are all His sheep.

For most people, sheep are seen as dumb. I don't like to use that term, but I will admit that sheep are followers. If one sheep jumps off a cliff, the others will follow. Yet, sheep are also amazing listeners. They recognize their shepherd's voice. They will follow him without question and trust that he will guide them to safety.

The psalmist David had been a shepherd for many years. In this chapter, he reflects on how God leads us like a shepherd leads his sheep.

God provides for us. He leads us to safety. He walks with us through the scariest times, and even death.

We don't have to worry about the future, about death, or anything. God is leading and guiding us right where He wants us to go. Like sheep, we just need to listen to His voice and follow Him.

bottom of page