top of page

Never Grow Weary - Galatians 6:9

Wow, I haven't been on here in a long time! I'm so sorry. Our family got a dog, I was in Chicago for a week, and yeah, it's been a little crazy. I'll try to blog about this later. :)

Here's a post I wrote for my college station, Resound Radio:

"So let's not get tired of doing what is good. At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don't give up."

- Galatians 6:9 (NLT)

How are you feeling after Spring Break?

Refreshed and ready to finish the semester strong?

Or overwhelmed by assignments or just life in general?

For me, it’s honestly more of the latter. I had an awesome time working with inner city kids in Chicago over spring break, but am worn out. My birthday’s coming up soon and I always tend to lose focus around mid-March. Spring fever is real!

Maybe you feel the same way. When we get tired, we start questioning our purpose and second-guessing our decisions.

Why should I keep going?

Does school really matter?

Will I ever get a job?

Am I really doing what God’s calling me to do?

And if I’m honest, living the Christian life is harder than school assignments and job worries. It’s a daily commitment to Christ and it’s so easy to question our relationship with God when we’re weary. It’s tempting to take the easy way out of situations.

That’s why I love Galatians 6:9. It encourages us to keep doing good, even if we don’t see immediate results. We will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up.

As the passage suggests, doing good is a lot like planting. It takes a lot of work and there’s never an instant reward. There are times of drought, storms, and thorns that threaten the crops. This period of turmoil may cause people to ask why they bothered planting in the first place. But, if they don’t give up and keep tending to their plants, at harvest time, they will see the fruit of their labor.

The same is true with us. Our faith takes work. It’s hard to do the right thing and there will be times we get tempted, face storms, or mess up. But if we accept Jesus’s forgiveness and persevere, we will ultimately reap spiritual blessings.

It’s okay to be tired. It’s okay to have spring fever.

But don’t give up.

Just remember that God is always with us and we never have to grow weary of doing good.

bottom of page